What a Performance Board Game

What a Performance Board Game

An all-action board game of silly fun for the whole family!

This family favourite has been given a fresh redesign and new improved gameplay, with over 300 fun challenges to perform!

Be a star and rise to the challenge of this exciting family board game! Race your way around the performance board to be the first player or team to reach the finish, with lots of fun noises, actions and activities along the way! Can you pretend to be a monkey, make a noise like a firework or wiggle your ears? If you can't, use the magic decoder and reveal your hidden forfeit on the back of the cards!

What a Performance is great to get the whole family laughing and playing together, featuring actions and sounds all ages will enjoy performing! Perfect to play as teams, this is a great alternative to get younger children involved or for players who are less confident but would still like to guess other player's actions.

Contents:

  • 1 jigged game board
  • 100 activity cards
  • 1 spinner
  • 1 sand timer
  • 1 card holder
  • 1 performance star
  • 4 character stands
  • 4 playing pieces
  • 1 magic decoder
  • 1 dice
  • 1 sand timer
  • 1 instruction leaflet

Not suitable for children under 3 years due to small parts. Choking hazard.

Players 2+

Back

Product Reviews

Your feedback is important to us so please add your own review for this item.

Add Review

Reviewed by Sarah B on 25 June 2018

This is a redesign of this family board game; a game that has proved very popular. The challenge is to perform a variety of noises, actions and activities. The categories are: Who am I? where the player pretends (soundlessly) to be something such as a ballet dancer, aeroplane, cat and so on; Make a noise, perhaps humming or an animal noise; Actions - do what is written. Then everyone else has to guess. With over 300 hilarious challenges there is plenty of variety in the games, meaning they play out differently every time - and for even more variety and suspense, the magic decoder reveals hidden forfeits. This fast-moving game is excellent for having plenty going on all the time to keep players fully engaged. The aim is to be the first to reach the 'Finish' star in the centre of the board... and you get there by making noises, performing actions and making mimes; to add to the excitement, some of the actions have to be performed within a set time, using the sand timer - this is another way in which the child-friendly appeal is enhanced. If you can't perform your action, you have to perform a forfeit. What a Performance! is suitable for ages 5+ and 2 or more players. It's not a game for the self-conscious, but for that very reason, it's an excellent way to build up confidence in a safe and reassuring family environment. It's great for developing maths and literacy skills too, and it also encourages activity as some actions need to be performed, such as touching toes and hopping. A great family game which is fun for all ages - we really enjoyed it.

  • Rating
  • 0

Reviewed by Jane A on 20 June 2018

What a Performance is a brilliantly fun game for all the family. It has us doing monkey and dinosaur impressions, sit ups, touching our toes, it had us wiggling our ears and talking in silly voices. It was tremendous fun and just the kind of thing to bring out the silly in anyone. We thought it was great for helping to grow confidence and do some independent reading too. But the best thing was it just allowed us to be silly together and it was a LOT of fun!

  • Rating
  • 5

Reviewed by Helen S on 28 June 2017

This is a great family game of the usual Orchard Toy quality. My kids (aged 5 and 7) loved using the spinner and the sand timer, but it was the magic decoder that was the biggest hit with them!



I am always on the look out for games that get children active rather than just sitting still and some of the action cards definitely did this (marching, dancing, crawling and jumping around the room...)although some do just require you to name or say things which doesn't require any movement. We did however get very active in some of the ''Who I am?' when we were trying to act out being a basketball player and a cancan dancer :-)



Lots of fun to be had!

  • Rating
  • 0

Reviewed by Rachel P on 23 November 2016

A fabulous family game ideal for promoting children's sportsmanship and confidence. We greatly enjoyed playing this game together as a family, there were some fantastic actions which the kids both enjoyed having a go at, one of which is only three-years old but was more than happy to join in.



A fantastic game at a great price, perfect for family time around the table.

  • Rating
  • 0

Excellent game

Reviewed by Sarah on 06 April 2016

We have not laughed so much in months... great fun for all of us. It's the best thing I have bought in a long time.

  • Rating
  • 5

Awesome Family Game

Reviewed by Laura Nelson on 07 January 2016

What a fab family game this is. It's so easy to get the concept straight away and it's perfect for encouraging my 6 year old to read independently from the action cards. There's so many little bits and pieces to investigate that this is definitely one game which will keep the kids (and adults) entertained for a while. I'd 100% recommend.

  • Rating
  • 5

A Hilariously Fun Family Game

Reviewed by Nicki Cawood on 26 November 2015

Every time we try out a new OT game we say it is our new favourite and this one hasn't disappointed. It is a mix of charades, traditional turn taking family board game, you get to make silly sounds, noises and actions and there are forfeits too. We found racing the timer added to the fun. We've also found out that surprisingly our children are better at acting things out than us grown ups are!

Perfect for an afternoon of fun or as part of family game night What a Performance is a real gem. We wouldn't hesitate to recommended it to anyone, especially at this price as it is quite a substantial game!

  • Rating
  • 5

Perfect for Christmas

Reviewed by L Brooke on 23 November 2015

This is perfect for the whole family to play at Christmas. A great way to get children to develop social skills and overcome shyness.

  • Rating
  • 5

Great for building confidence

Reviewed by Donna on 18 November 2015

What a Performance is a great game on so many levels. For us, it got the children to really come out of their shell, got them to think out the box and helped reading too! A really fun family game.

  • Rating
  • 5

A great performance... and a great game!

Reviewed by Kate Pollard on 08 September 2014

A really well made family game which is fun and entertaining. A must have family game!

  • Rating
  • 5

Great fun!

Reviewed by Annette on 21 June 2014

This game gives children of all ages an opportunity to show off their talents. It is confidence building and importantly, enables the adults to join in and encourage the younger members of the family. I would highly recommend this family game.

  • Rating
  • 5

Great family fun!

Reviewed by Annette Hill on 20 June 2014

Two children (8 and 4) and two adults, all joining in and having a good laugh together. The actions and noises are great fun and could be adapted to suit the younger child. I would recommend this game to anyone. A true family game !

  • Rating
  • 5

Great for kids and adults!

Reviewed by Laura Campbell on 21 May 2014

We loved playing What a Performance. It is a great family game that encourages you to act out a thing, like a lion, perform a task, like standing for your turn or making a noise for everyone to guess. Great for any age and even more fun with a group of friends once the kids are in bed!

  • Rating
  • 5

Great game for all of the family

Reviewed by Lynne on 21 May 2014

The children (aged 4,10 &12) enjoyed the game and making fun of themselves and laughing with each other whether they got it right or wrong made it a good fun, family game. I agree with the educational guide to this board game and think it's a great way to develop these skills. The aftercare at Orchard Toys is 2nd to none!

  • Rating
  • 5

What a fab game!

Reviewed by Heidi on 21 May 2014

This is a brilliant game and we all love it. My eldest two (4 years old & 6 years old) love playing games but some board games mean sitting down for some time and they would rather be more active. This is perfect for them. It's something they can play with each other or with us all as a family.

Their favourite part is landing on the 'Spin It' spaces so that they have an activity to do. They both love playing charades so really enjoy the 'Who Am I?' section. As with all Orchard Toys games that we have the instructions are clear and easy to follow.

  • Rating
  • 5

Superb Family Game

Reviewed by Caroline Christian on 21 May 2014

We all loved this game, even our 4yr old who can't read yet. There's plenty of "play time" and lots of options and surprises as you make your way around the board. If you're a family who loves board games then we can't recommend this highly enough.

As with all Orchard games the instructions are very clear and easy to understand. We'll be back for more games this Christmas! Thank you.

  • Rating
  • 5
Sign up for news and offers
Made in Britain
Lost your instructions?
Missing a piece?